Nothing Short Of Thankful

Today is Thanksgiving. I had completely forgotten until the “igeniero” that Heather and I work with at Antorcha de Vida (a school for special needs children) made a comment about being thankful for us. Just the word was enough to trigger my memory and remind me that this Thanksgiving will be different from any other one in my life thus far. For one, it’s a work day, and a very busy one at that. While “Thanksgiving” as word translates into Spanish, (El día de acción de gracias), the actual holiday does not and I feel very certain in saying that we are probably the only ones of our neighbors in Sangolquí that will be taking note of this day.

This holiday in particular is somewhat of a double-edged sword; Labor Day, Halloween, my birthday, and Veteran’s Day all passed just fine (shocking, I know), but this one feels a little different.  While I am so, so, so thankful to be here doing what I am doing, — not just today, but it is a good day to remember it — I am also a little sad to be away from family and friends back home. I think this might be the first year I won’t be watching the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade with my incredible mom, piles of blankets, hot chocolate, and commercial breaks full of tidying and cooking. Today I don’t have to plan my outfit strategically enough to where I can look cute in all the family pictures that my photographer dad will inevitably take, be comfortable enough to lounge on Shoo-Shoo’s couches while flipping through the 234720 Black Friday ads with Kelly and Jennifer, be versatile enough to play basketball with Andrew and toys with Owen, not be too sophisticated for the kids table with Ashes and Bri, and simple enough to not care when it gets a little dirty being Albert’s sous chef. It’s hard but necessary work this outfit planning.

Still, looking back on all of these memories reminds me even more about how much I have to be thankful for. The fact that I have had all of these wonderful times with family and friends back home, have awesome memories, and now have the chance to have a completely different experience here in Ecuador is a testament itself to how blessed I am.

Tonight we will be sharing a slightly larger meal than usual with the 5 volunteers that are here this week from UGA, and Sunday we will be celebrating with some Gringo friends in the area — so no worries, we will still be overeating and having lots of convivium. It’s a typical day in every other way save for the fact that there is an ingrained message in my American subconscious that reminds to me to be thankful of everything I have, which I think is kind of a nice reminder.

So. I’m thankful for Ecuador; for all of its quirks and unpredictability. I’m thankful for Manna; for all of the awesome opportunities they have given me, the new best friends, and all the work they are doing.  I’m thankful to be here; to be doing something I love and learning new things all the time. I’m thankful for my family, who has done nothing but support me. I’m thankful for my friends back home, who put up with my efforts at not letting them forget me. I’m thankful for everyone who supports me, both here in Ecuador and back home. I’m thankful for the bus ride I’m about to take, that reminds me that buses can go faster than you ever want them to and, because it is very possible that I could die at any minute, that life is precious, just not as precious as being on schedule.

http://www.gofundme.org/MPIEcuador

About cnicolehamilton

I am a recent graduate (English Major) of Lipscomb University in Nashville, TN. I was born and raised in Memphis, but after 4 great years, Nashville has kind of become home. I love to read and write and proofread -- guess I picked the right major. I also love being outside, whether its on bike or foot, playing frisbee, soccer, or any other sport, taking pictures or walks, making food or crafts, and a million other interests. I am preparing to embark on what might be the biggest adventure of my life so far as I take off for 13-months in Ecuador to work with a nonprofit, Manna Project International. I got to spend this past year interning for and volunteering with a local nonprofit, The Contributor, and discovered a passion for this line of work, particularly those efforts that combat poverty and all that entails. So here I go. Leaving boxes for my parents, clothes for my sisters, and this blog for everyone who cares to follow!

One response »

  1. Nicole, you are so amazing! Thank you for your writing, your wonderful and adventurous spirit, and for the great work you are doing. You are truly inspiring.

    Reply

Leave a comment